slickaway's thoughts on the matter

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A second revelation

I don't need them. I thought that life would never be the same without my Katimavik family. That I wouldn't feel whole with them gone.

It's not true. I feel perfectly whole.

Some of those people, like Jessy, are people I definitely want to stay in touch with and want in my life. Maybe because he is the one I have spent the most time with outside of Katimavik.

Some of those people, like Madeleine, I use to feel very close to. But it was a pseudo closeness that has disappeared since returning home to my friends and family. I needed her at the time, yes, but I don't need her like I did before. I needed someone sane and on my level, and she was as close as I could possibly get even though she wasn't all sane (not that any of us were) and we weren't entirely on the same level.

Some of those people, like Sarah, Simon, Alyss and Cassy were friends at the time but I don't much of a connection to them anymore. They are bit players in my life. Maybe I'll see Sarah again. And I will probably see Cass at some point. I have an affection for those two. They were both cute people (if annoying at times) that I wouldn't mind seeing and hanging out with for some amount of time.

But I don't see myself ever seeing Simon or Alyss again. They are the two people I have the least in common with I think. Simon isn't someone I can be actual good friends with outside of being forced to live with him. And Alyss for obvious reasons is no longer a part of my life. But besides the obvious, I feel like I cared for her, but didn't really have much in common with her as a person. We didn't talk much besides testing our second language on each other. She was my language buddy, but has turned out to be not much else.

So, yes Katimavik was life changing, but I think it had a lot more to do with personal challenges and changes than life long friendships created.

12:36 a.m. - 2010-04-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

what came before - what comes next

The Here and Now

The Time Before

The Sara

The Public

The World is Full of Surprises

DiaryLand

other diaries: