slickaway's thoughts on the matter

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New job?

I have connections! I've never been the haver of a connection before.

The aunt of Jessy's who lives in Penticton is a fabulous person. When Katimavik ended she came and picked up the three of us who were going to Vancouver at 2 in the morning (even though she had work the next day) and took us to stay at her place until we could catch our bus at 8 or whatever it was. She gave us coffee and pastries and me a couch to sleep on. She is a truly amazing person. And she's been even more amazing now.

We talked a bit when we were volunteering at her work. She works at a garden center, but not a huge conglomerate kind. A smaller family owned one. And she is general manager or something like that. Anyways, she does a lot of buying for the center and she told me that all the independently owned garden centers across Canada buy in bulk together so they can price things lower and compete with the bigger stores. Because of this, they all know each other, but specifically she knows Mary Jane Reeves. The woman who owns Reeves Garden Center. And she put in a good word for me. And if I want it I could very well have a job.

HOW FREAKING AWESOME IS THAT?!?

I am to go there, ask for Mary Jane specifically, tell her I know Kerry and to giver her my resume specifically.

I already have experience in the garden thanks to Katimavik, and I think it would be a lot of fun. It's also perfect timing because they hire people for March...which is when I will be back! Perfect perfect. I just hope my not being there for all of May will be a big problem. I hope multiplied by so much.

And I told Mark about it too. So he could have a job there as well. I think he would like it. I'm pretty sure they would need people to do heavy lifting and stuff and I think he likes that kind of work because he can work out at the same time as making money. Win-win situation.

I HOPE IT WORKS OUT.

1:41 p.m. - 2010-01-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

what came before - what comes next

The Here and Now

The Time Before

The Sara

The Public

The World is Full of Surprises

DiaryLand

other diaries: